Text Resize

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Bulletin ID: No. 50 - Diagnostic Eligibility For MHRS Services

Monday, December 15, 2008

The following information from the Mental Health Establish Act of 2001 and Chapter 34, Title 22 DCMR, Mental Health Rehabilitation Services Provider Certification Standards, is being provided to clarify who qualifies to receive MHRS based on diagnosis.


3403                    ELIGIBLE CONSUMERS


3403.1               Eligible consumers of MHRS include children and youth with mental health problems and adults with mental illness as described in the District of Columbia Department of Mental Health Establishment Congressional Review Emergency Amendment Act of 2001 (D.C. Act 14-101), certified as requiring MHRS by a qualified practitioner.


          D.C. Act 14-101 7-1131.02-Definitions # 24:

                             “Persons with mental illness” means persons who:

             (A)    Have a diagnosable mental, behavioral, or emotional disorder(including those of biological etiology) which substantially impairs the mental health of the person or is of sufficient duration to meet diagnostic criteria specified within the DSM-IV or its ICD-9-CM equivalent (and subsequent revisions) with the exception of DSM-IV “V” codes, substance abuse disorders, mental retardation, and other developmental disorders, or seizure disorders, unless those exceptions co-occur with another diagnosable mental illness; and

             (B)(i) Are 18 years of age or over and are not consumers of special education, youth or child welfare services; or

                  (ii) Are 22 years of age or over.


3403.2                Eligible consumers of MHRS shall have a primary diagnosis on either Axis 1 or 2 of the DSM-IV. 


3403.3               Persons with a primary substance abuse diagnosis only are not eligible consumers of MHRS.